PIKEVILLE, Ky. - The Kentucky State Police, Pikeville Post, which provides coverage for Pike, Floyd, Martin, Magoffin and Johnson, counties, will be conducting periodic traffic safety checkpoints.

These checkpoints will be conducted in an effort to enforce the traffic and regulatory laws of the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Traffic safety checkpoints are a way for the Kentucky State Police to improve highway safety through high visibility public safety activity in order to ultimately increase the safety of the citizens within the Commonwealth.

A complete list of traffic safety checkpoint locations for the Post 9 area can be found at http://kentuckystatepolice.org/post-locations/post-9/p9-checkpoints/.