Last updated: May 13. 2014 10:22PM - 1628 Views
Rachel Dove rbaldwin@civitasmedia.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

WILLIAMSON - With 32 precincts now in and counted, the local Mingo County races are as follows.

Circuit Judge: Miki Thompson is leading by 40.01 percent, with Jonathan “Duke” Jewell receiving at 27.02. Robert Carlton has 22.43 percent, followed by Teresa McCune with 10.55.

County Commission Race: For the expired term, Incumbent Greg “Hootie” Smith is now leading by 50.80, with Lonnie Hannah close behind with 49.20.

For the unexpired County Commission Race term, “Big Jim” Hatfield leads with 44.80 percent, followed by Incumbent Mike Carter, 38.41. Dave Justice brings up the rear with 16.79.

Prosecuting Attorney: The race is now a close one, with Incumbent Teresa Maynard taking the lead with 46.09 percent, with Charles “Butch” West close behind with 42.99 percent. Wes White has 10.92 percent.

Sheriff: Incumbent James Smith has an impressive lead with 82.14 percent, with challenger Roy Tiller receiving 17.86.

Magistrate: Jim Harvey leads the pack with 30.56 percent, followed by Scott Smith taking the second place with 24.97, followed by Thomas Taylor with 24.70 percent, Michelle Webb with 14.o1 percent, and last is Colin Kelley with 5.76 percent.

For the District 20 House of Delegates race, Incumbent Justin Marcum leads his challenger Mike Baisden with a 69.10 to 30.90 percent margin.

The next update will be at approximately 10:15 p.m. Seven precincts total are still to be counted, with three precincts enroute to the courthouse.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Williamson Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com